The
PAROSPHROMENUS PROJECT

The
PAROSPHROMENUS
PROJECT

P. deissneri breeding

Home Forums Global Breeding P. deissneri breeding

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Foster Reves
    Participant

Hello,
    I suppose that I could be considered a fairly experienced aquarists. I have always had a special interest in labyrinth fish and have bred various species over the years. I am new to licorice gouramis however. I have a group of six in a 20 gallon high tank (61 cm x 33 cm x 43 cm), heavily planted and filtered by a large sponge filter. I also have driftwood and a few almond leaves for decoration and hiding in addition to several small caves for breeding. Temperature is around 22 to 23 C most of the time. I already had a group of Danio margaritatus in this tank that have have been in there for about five years. About six months ago I introduced six P. deissneri. They were WC. all seem to be doing well. I feed them fine flakes, frozen food, and live whiteworms, mosquito larvae, and blackworms. So far however I have seen no sign of breeding activity. Could it be the presence of the margaritatus? Any suggestions would be appreciated.
    Chip

Peter Finke
    Participant

Chip, before answering to your questions I have some questions myself:
    1. Are you sure it’s deissneri? The males with a lanceolate caudal fin with black filament? Most fish called like this are not. Compare our portrait of deissneri.
    2. Are you sure that you have males and females?
    3. If you have: Are you sure they belong to the same species?
    4. Are you sure that the fish are at least nine months old?
    5. What are the water parameters? The temperature is of minor interest.
    6. Are you really sure they feed on “fine flakes”? I have never seen licorice gouramis taking other than live foods (with the exception of frozen live food which I do not recommend)?
    7. How big and how vivacious/brisk/vivid are those Danios?
    8. Where do you live?