The
PAROSPHROMENUS PROJECT

The
PAROSPHROMENUS
PROJECT

Tap water

Home Forums Global Methods Tap water

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Miriam Parker
    Participant

Hello everyone, I am brand new to keeping paros, and very happy to have found this forum!

I have a question about water. I have read I think every single post on this forum regarding water parameters, and yet I still think I must ask this:

I live on Vancouver Island, in Canada – we have very very soft tap water here.

The water, straight from the tap, has a pH of 7, kH of 1, and gH of 2. As for conductivity, my municipality water site states that it is 45 μS/cm.

Do you think that with this water, it would be possible (with addition of oak, catappa, alder cones etc) to lower Ph and kH, and have the proper water parameters for paros, therefore bypassing the need for RO/rainwater/distilled?

I realize that ‘tap water’ is an evil phrase on this forum, but please be gentle with me 🙂

Bill Little
    Participant

Welcome Myrrhiam to the Paro forum. Most of us in the U.S. are not as lucky as you with their water conditions. However, there are a couple of individuals on the west coast that do have soft water direct from the tap. I believe Seattle and San Francisco have members with soft water. I would invite them to comment on your request.I believe they do as you are suggesting – adding IAL, alder cones and perhaps peat to their water. I, on the other hand, must use RO water mixed with tap and then place IAL in the bucket to age prior to adding to the tank – a much slower process.
    I get regular requests from North American members looking for a source of any Paro species. It is not easy here in the U.S.to obtain these species, but your Canadian neighbors have even a greater difficulty it would appear. Could you tell us how your acquired your fish and what species you have.

Miriam Parker
    Participant